Pacific Coast Bicycle Touring Setup

For years I have played around with the idea of doing some extended bike adventuring along the pacific coast of the US and Canada. (route map here!) Next month I will have the opportunity to finally make it happen, at least to some degree..

I’m dropping myself off in BC, and riding south towards Santa Barbara, CA. I want to do my best to share my experience through this blog, and hopefully inspire others to get out and enjoy the simple things in life! Like this: my trusty bike…Image

I built from the bottom up, starting with the leftover parts from my recent drivetrain upgrade to XX1 on my Yeti. I figured I’d do best to just build a bike to absorb the extra parts rather than try to sell them as used individually. At least, that was the justification for me to begin work on the meanest touring machine ever seen!

I’ll keep this as a brief overview, and cover individual parts in later posts.

  • Frame/fork : Surly Troll | Medium | dark eggplant [CroMoly Steel]
  • Headset : Cane Creek Ten [weaksauce, I know]
  • Stem : Easton EA50 60mm [by default]
  • Handlebar : Salsa Bend 2 Bar [comfy]
  • Saddle : WTB Pure V team [also comfy]
  • Drive : 28/42 X7 double | Wippermann 10Sg Chain | 11-36 PG1070 cassette
  • BB : GXP [resisted the urge for Chris King. proud of myself]
  • Wheels : DT Swiss X1600 set [disc only , but no proprietery spokes]
  • Tires : Schwalbe Marathon Mondial 26 X 2.2 [just got em, stoked!]
  • brakes : Avid Elixir 5 [should I worry? bb7 a better choice?]
  • Rotors : Shimano XT Icetech 160mm [good and bad]
  • Shifters: Sram X7 2×10 [simple]
  • Grips : ODI Longneck [purple matches frame perfectly, only reason for use]
  • Skewers & Clamp : Salsa Purps Stainless [excellent quality, looks good]
  • Frame Bag : Revelate designs | for Surly Troll [great so far]
  • Bento : Revelate designs Fuel Tank [super handy item]
  • Racks : [Salsa] Wanderlust rear | Minimalist front | Down Under fronts [all great]
  • Pedals : Shimano A530 dual-sided [surprisingly good platform]
  • Fenders : SKS P65 [quite nice]
  • Cages : Salsa Stainless steel x2 | Salsa anything cage on downtube [best cages]
  • Computer mount : Barfly [simple and strong]
  • Computer : Garmin Edge 200 [easy to use, backlit screen and lightweight]
  • Rear Deraileur : Sram XO [no type 2 😦 ]
  • Front deraileur : Sram X7 [ whtevs ]
  • FD Adaptor : 28.6 HDM Adaptor by Problem Solvers [shifts great]
  • Lock : Abus Bordo BIG [heavy, but secure and compact]

IMG_4827 IMG_4829 IMG_4832 IMG_4833 IMG_4834 IMG_4835 IMG_4836 IMG_4837 IMG_4838

Leave a Reply

